Region 1: Ilocos Region

The Philippines is a land of diverse cultures, breathtaking landscapes, and hidden treasures waiting to be discovered. One such gem is Region I, commonly known as the Ilocos Region, located on the northwestern coast of Luzon Island.

  • Located at northwestern coast of Luzon island
  • Land Area (2013): 129.65 km2 (5005.67 sq mi)
  • Population as of 01 May 2020: 5,301,139
  • Regional Center: San Fernando
  • 4 provinces of Region 1: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, and Pangasinan
  • Consists of 116 municipalities and 3,267 barangays.

This region is not only home to picturesque landscapes but also steeped in cultural history, mainly the heritage of the Ilocanos.

In terms of land area, Region I covers 129.65 km2 (5005.67 sq mi) making it a significant part of Luzon Island’s northern coast.

As of the 2010 census, it was inhabited by a population of 5,301,139 people, with a density of 409 individuals per square kilometer.

This population figure represents approximately 4.86 percent of the total Philippine population in 2020.

Also Read: List of Regions in the Philippines

Geographical Features

Region I boasts an array of natural wonders, from its high mountain peaks to beautiful islands.

Among the highest mountains in the region are Mount Sicapoo (2,360 meters), Mount Malaya (2,352 meters), and Mount Burnay (2,115 meters).

These mountains not only offer picturesque views but are also popular among hikers and mountaineers seeking adventure.

The region is also home to several offshore islands, with Anda and Santiago being the largest. Perhaps the most famous natural attraction in the region is the Hundred Islands, a renowned cluster of islands and islets offering a diverse range of experiences from beachcombing to snorkeling.

Provinces of Region 1

Region I is divided into four provinces: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, and Pangasinan. Additionally, it includes one independent city, Dagupan City.

These provinces, along with their cities, municipalities, and barangays, make up the administrative structure of the region. Each province has its unique charm, history, and attractions for both locals and tourists to explore.

Region 2 Provinces List

ProvincePopulation (2020)Capital
Ilocos Norte609,588Laoag City
Ilocos Sur706,009Vigan City
La Union822,352San Fernando City

Region 1 Cities

The nine (9) cities in Ilocos Region include:

  1. Alaminos (Pangasinan)
  2. Batac (Ilocos Norte)
  3. Candon (Ilocos Sur)
  4. Dagupan (Pangasinan)
  5. Laoag (Ilocos Norte)
  6. San Carlos (Pangasinan)
  7. San Fernando (La Union)
  8. Urdaneta (Pangasinan)
  9. Vigan (Ilocos Sur)

Cultural Diversity

Region I is not only a treasure trove of natural beauty but also a cultural mosaic. The region is inhabited by three distinct cultural groups: Ilocanos, Pangasinenses, and Igorots.

Ilocanos predominantly occupy the coastal provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, and La Union. Their culture and language play a significant role in shaping the region’s identity. The Ilocanos are known for their industriousness, strong sense of community, and deep connection to their ancestral land.

Pangasinenses, on the other hand, are the native people of Pangasinan. Their culture, traditions, and dialect contribute to the region’s rich cultural tapestry.

In some remote and secluded areas of Ilocos Sur, one can find the Tingguians, who live in the mountains. Their unique way of life, traditional clothing, and practices add to the cultural diversity of Region I.

Preserving Heritage and Embracing Progress

Region I, also known as the Ilocos Region, is a place where rich cultural heritage meets stunning natural beauty. The lush landscapes, historical sites, and the warmth of the people make this region a must-visit destination for travelers seeking to immerse themselves in the heart of the Philippines.

As the region continues to evolve, it is crucial to preserve its unique culture and environment, ensuring that future generations can also enjoy the wonders of this enchanting part of the country.

Ilocos Region Quickstats

Population (2020)5,301,139
Land Area (2013)129.65 km2 (5005.67 sq mi)
Marine waterbodies
South China Sea
Island GroupLuzon