Region 2: Cagayan Valley

Cagayan Valley, also known as Region 2, is a region in the Philippines that is located in the northeastern part of Luzon, this region spans an expansive 298.37 km2 (11520.08 sq mi).

It has a population of 3,685,744 as of the May 2020 Census. It has 5 Provinces, 4 Cities, 89 municipalities and 2, 311 barangays.

Its diverse landscapes, ranging from fertile farmlands to lush forests, expansive grasslands, and bountiful marine resources, make it a region teeming with potential. At the heart of Cagayan Valley flows the mighty Cagayan River, the longest river in the country, enriching the region’s landscape and culture.

Quick Summary

  • Land Area: 298.37 km2 (11520.08 sq mi)
  • Population as of 01 May 2020: 3,685,744
  • Regional Center: Tuguegerao
  • 5 provinces of Region 2: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino
  • Consists of 89 municipalities and 2,311 barangays.

Also Read: List of Regions in the Philippines

Geographical Significance

Region 2 is situated in the northeastern portion of the main island of Luzon and includes the scattered islands of the Batanes-Babuyan Groups, which occupy the northernmost tip of the Philippine archipelago.

It is bounded by three prominent mountain ranges: the Sierra Madre Mountains on the east, the Caraballo Mountains to the south, and the Cordillera Mountains to the north of the Caraballo range. This unique geographical setting provides the region with not only breathtaking scenery but also various environmental advantages.

The Provinces of Region 2

Cagayan Valley is divided into five provinces: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, and Quirino. Each of these provinces contributes to the region’s rich tapestry of culture, traditions, and resources.

Region 2 is further subdivided into ten congressional districts, encompassing four cities: Cauayan City, Ilagan, and Santiago City in Isabela, and Tuguegarao City in Cagayan. The region consists of 89 municipalities, each with its own unique charm.

In the past, Region 2 comprised seven provinces, providing fertile ground for business opportunities, industrial development, and tourism. However, with the establishment of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR), the region’s territorial jurisdiction was reduced to its current five provinces. This restructuring, while reducing the administrative scope of Cagayan Valley, allowed for more focused governance and development in the remaining provinces.

Region 2 Provinces List

ProvincePopulation (2020)Capital
Cagayan1,268,603Tuguegarao City
Nueva Vizcaya497,432Bayombong

Region 2 Cities

4 Cities in Cagayan Valley

The four (4) cities include:

  1. Cauayan
  2. Ilagan
  3. Santiago
  4. Tuguegarao

Agricultural Abundance

One of the region’s primary strengths lies in its agricultural sector. Cagayan Valley is an agricultural powerhouse, producing a wide array of crops. The region’s fertile lands yield staples such as rice, corn, peanuts, beans, and various fruits. In addition to these crops, the region is also home to a robust livestock industry, including cattle, hogs, curacaos, and poultry.

The people of Cagayan Valley have long been stewards of their land, cultivating and harvesting its resources to support not only their own communities but also those beyond their borders.

Mineral Wealth and Hydro-Power

Beyond agriculture, Cagayan Valley is endowed with significant mineral resources. These resources include hydro-power, with the Magat HydroPower plant as a prime example. The Magat HydroPower plant generates a substantial 360 megawatts of electricity, supporting the power needs of the Luzon Grid.

This crucial energy source plays a vital role in powering homes, businesses, and industries across the Luzon region, contributing to the economic growth of the entire country.

Tourism and Natural Wonders

The beauty of Cagayan Valley extends beyond its resources and industry; the region is also a treasure trove of natural wonders. The stunning landscapes, lush greenery, and pristine coastlines make it an enticing destination for both local and international tourists. From the rugged terrains of Sierra Madre to the picturesque Batanes Islands, there are countless opportunities for adventure and relaxation.

Notable attractions within Cagayan Valley include the Callao Caves, Palaui Island, Baggao, and the beautiful Batanes Islands, often referred to as the “Home of the Winds.” Each of these destinations provides a unique experience, offering glimpses of the region’s natural splendor, cultural heritage, and warm hospitality.

In conclusion, Cagayan Valley, or Region 2, stands as a region of immense beauty and potential. Its abundant natural resources, diverse landscapes, and rich cultural heritage make it a vital part of the Philippines. As Cagayan Valley continues to develop and embrace the opportunities that lie ahead, it remains a region where the past, present, and future come together in harmony, painting a picture of a land with an incredibly bright future.

Cagayan Valley Quickstats

Population (2020)3,685,744
Land Area (2010)298.37 km2 (11520.08 sq mi)
Marine waterbodies
Philippine Sea, South China Sea, Luzon Strait
Island GroupLuzon