Region 4A: Calabarzon

Region 4A, commonly referred to as Calabarzon, is a diverse and rapidly developing region located in the southwestern part of Luzon, the largest island in the Philippines.

With its rich history, diverse culture, and abundant natural resources, Calabarzon has grown into one of the country’s most prominent regions. This article delves into the unique characteristics, historical significance, and recent developments of Calabarzon.

Quick Summary:

  • Located in the southwestern part of Luzon island
  • Land Area (2013): 165.76 km2 (6400.13 sq mi)
  • Population as of 01 May 2020: 16,195,042
  • Regional Center: City of Calamba
  • 5 provinces of Region 4A:  Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, and Rizal
  • 1 highly urbanized city: Lucena
  • Consists of 20 cities, 122 municipalities, and 4,019 barangays.

Location and Geography

Calabarzon, short for Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, and Quezon, derives its name from the initial letters of these five provinces that make up this vibrant region.

Covering a total land area of 165.76 km2 (6400.13 sq mi), Calabarzon is known for its picturesque landscapes, pristine beaches, and lush mountains. It stretches from the eastern Pacific Ocean to the western South China Sea, offering an array of breathtaking natural attractions.

Region 4A Calabarzon Map

Region 4A Provinces

Region I is divided into five provinces: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon, and Rizal. Additionally, it includes one independent city, Lucena City.

ProvincePopulation (2020)Capital
Batangas2,908,494Batangas City
Cavite4,344,829Trece Martires City
Laguna3,382,193Santa Cruz
Quezon1,950,459Lucena City
Rizal3,330,143Antipolo City

Region 1 Cities

The twenty (20) cities in Region 4A Calabarzon include Antipolo City (Rizal), Bacoor City (Cavite); Cavite City (Cavite); Imus City (Cavite); Trece Martirez City (Cavite); Tagaytay City (Cavite); Dasmariñas City (Cavite); General Trias City (Cavite); City of Biñan (Laguna); Cabuyao City (Laguna); Calamba City (Laguna); San Pablo City (Laguna); San Pedro (Laguna); Sta. Rosa City (Laguna); Batangas City (Batangas); Lipa City (Batangas); Tanauan City (Batangas); Sto. Tomas City (Batangas); Lucena City (Quezon); and Tayabas City (Quezon).

Also Read: List of Regions in the Philippines

Historical Significance

The history of Calabarzon is intertwined with the rich tapestry of Philippine history. During the Spanish colonial period, the region played a crucial role in the country’s quest for independence. The province of Cavite, in particular, is famous for being the birthplace of the Philippine Revolution, marked by the iconic Battle of Alapan in 1898.

The region also has its fair share of cultural and historical landmarks. Rizal province, named after the national hero Jose Rizal, is home to numerous monuments and sites dedicated to his life and contributions to the Philippines.

The province of Laguna boasts the town of Pila, which is considered one of the country’s oldest communities, filled with well-preserved colonial-era architecture.

Economic Growth

Calabarzon has become a thriving economic hub in the Philippines. Its proximity to Metro Manila has made it a favored destination for both local and international investors. The region hosts numerous industrial parks, manufacturing facilities, and technology hubs, making it a vital cog in the Philippines’ economy. The Port of Batangas, one of the busiest in the country, plays a pivotal role in the nation’s trade and commerce.

Agriculture also thrives in Calabarzon, with the region being one of the country’s primary producers of coconuts, pineapple, and sugarcane. Additionally, its rich volcanic soil is ideal for the cultivation of various crops.

Natural Attractions

Calabarzon boasts an array of natural wonders that draw both locals and tourists. Tagaytay in Cavite offers a cool respite with its stunning view of Taal Volcano, the world’s smallest active volcano, nestled within Taal Lake. Meanwhile, Batangas is famous for its pristine beaches, such as Anilao and Nasugbu, ideal for diving and snorkeling enthusiasts.

Quezon Province is home to the beautiful beaches of Pagbilao, Mauban, and Atimonan, providing a perfect getaway for beach lovers. The province also has the enchanting mystical mountain of Mount Banahaw, which holds spiritual significance for many Filipinos.


Calabarzon, or Region 4A, is a region steeped in history, blessed with breathtaking natural landscapes, and economically vibrant. As it continues to grow and evolve, this region will undoubtedly play a significant role in the future of the Philippines, serving as a testament to the nation’s rich cultural heritage and unwavering spirit of progress. Whether you seek a glimpse into history, a relaxing vacation, or a business opportunity, Calabarzon has it all.

Region 4A Calabarzon Quickstats

Population (2020)16,195,042
Land Area (2013)165.76 km2 (6400.13 sq mi)
Marine waterbodiesPhilippine Sea, South China Sea, Sibuyan Sea, Verde Island Passage
Island GroupLuzon